Liam and Frankie Davison award

Secondary Students Literary Competition – for outstanding achievement in literary writing

Each year The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RANZCOG) invites senior secondary students residing in Australia or New Zealand to apply for the Liam and Frankie Davison Award for outstanding achievement in literary writing on Women’s Health.

 Launched in 2014, the RANZCOG Secondary Schools Literary Competition was renamed in 2015 in honour of RANZCOG staff member and award-winning author, Liam Davison and his wife Frankie, a secondary school teacher, in recognition of their shared passion for nurturing and encouraging young writers.


Applications are now open, and will close on Tuesday 2 April 2024 at 5.00pm (AEDT).

In 2024 there are two awards valued at $1000 each on offer. This is a creative opportunity for a student who is interested in medicine, health science, politics, law, psychology, or sociology to submit a piece on any aspect of women’s health that interest them. Past entries include fictional stories, non-fiction essays or poems on topics ranging from disordered eating, gynaecological and reproductive issues to gendered violence.


Applications are open to students in their final three years of secondary school (Years 10, 11 or 12 in Australia and Years 11, 12 or 13 in New Zealand).

All applications must include a completed application form and an original literary piece of not more than 1000 words on any topic of interest in women’s health (examples might include an opinion piece on a social issue, a short story or a report).

Number of scholarships

Up to two awards are offered each year; the winning entrant(s) will receive $1,000 in AUD or NZD as applicable, based on country of residence.

How to apply

Applications are now open, and will close on Tuesday 2 April 2024 at 5.00pm (AEDT).

Winning entries

In 2023, we received 40 high-quality applications covering topics such as body-image issues, endometriosis, postpartum depression, abortion, gender inequality and violence against women.

We’re so thrilled to share this year’s finalists with you — read their winning entries below.

Rose Chaldi of Radford College Canberra, Australia

Neve Post of New Plymouth Girls High School, New Plymouth, Aotearoa New Zealand

YearWinning entries
2023Beyond the Band-aid: A Holistic Approach to Obstetric Fistula
by Rose Chaldi
It’s Love, It’s Love, It’s Love by Neve Post
2022Treating Men and Women Unequally is the Path to Equal Healthcare by Annabel LauMirror, Mirror on the Wall by Lucy Corcoran

He toa taumata rau by Lucy Thompson
2021Baby Blue Icing by Dinali FernandoGinger Tea & Yoga by Matilda Hockey
2019Chasing Sunset by Bessie Yuan
2018Manifesting #MeToo by Gaia BahaarUnnatural Selection by Madeline Ungvary
2018The Day of the Fire by Emma Uren
2017Gag Trumps Women’s Rights by Gaia BahaarEarly Exposure to the Internet has Influenced my Generation’s View of ‘Normal’ Women by Angus McCregor
2016Virginity: A Way of Oppression and Restriction by J Down


For more information, please contact the RANZCOG Women’s Health Foundation:

Phone: +61 3 9412 2916

1 March 2024