There are five subspecialties:
  • Gynaecological oncology: This is a specialised field of medicine that focuses on cancers of the female reproductive system, including ovarian cancer, uterine cancer, vaginal cancer, cervical cancer and vulval cancer. Subspecialists have extensive training in the diagnosis and treatment of these cancers.
  • Maternal–fetal medicine: Maternal–fetal medicine is the branch of obstetrics that focuses on the medical and surgical management of high-risk pregnancies. Management involves monitoring and treatment, including comprehensive ultrasound, chorionic villus sampling, genetic amniocentesis and fetal surgery or treatment.
  • Reproductive endocrinology and infertility: This is the surgical subspecialty of obstetrics and gynecology that trains physicians in reproductive medicine, addressing hormonal function as related to reproduction as well as the issue of infertility. While most specialists in this field primarily focus on the treatment of infertility, reproductive endocrinologists are also trained to evaluate and treat hormonal dysfunctions outside of infertility.
  • Ultrasound: High-quality ultrasound services are essential to the provision of obstetrical and gynaecological care by complementing the clinical work of specialists and subspecialists. Ultrasound practice at subspecialist level requires advanced scanning and procedural skills, an excellent knowledge base in obstetrical, gynaecological and fetal pathophysiology, and sound counselling skills.
  • Urogynaecology: This is the field of medicine specialising in pelvic floor dysfunction in women of all ages; it involves the management of: bladder dysfunction (usually urinary incontinence); and vaginal dysfunction (usually prolapse of uterus and/or vagina).

The College introduced certification in the five subspecialties in order to:

  • improve knowledge, practice, teaching and research;
  • promote the concentration of specialised expertise, special facilities and clinical material that will be of considerable benefit to some patients;
  • improve the recruitment of talented graduates into areas of recognised subspecialisation;
  • establish a close understanding and working relationship with other disciplines;
  • encourage coordinated management of relevant clinical services throughout a region;
  • accept a major regional responsibility for higher training, research and audit in areas of recognised subspecialisation; and
  • ​establish consistency in recruitment, training and assessment across areas of subspecialisation.

Subspecialist applications

To apply to join a RANZCOG subspecialty training program, doctors must have been accredited with at least 138 weeks of satisfactory Core Training, passed the MRANZCOG examinations or have obtained the FRANZCOG. Trainees can apply in Year 4 of Core Training to commence subspecialty training in Year 5.

For more information and to apply, visit Subspecialty Applications.


Women's Health

RANZCOG launches ‘Innovate’ Reconciliation Action Plan at their Annual Scientific Meeting

On September 2018, the College launched the RANZCOG ‘Innovate’ Reconciliation Action Plan with the aim to improve Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women’s health by setting measurable goals, timelines and responsibilities and by building a framework to achieve its goals.


Women's Health

Revised statement Prenatal screening and diagnostic testing for fetal chromosomal and genetic conditions (C-Obs 59)

During July Council week, the RANZCOG Council and Board approved revisions to the statement, Prenatal screening and diagnostic testing for fetal chromosomal and genetic conditions (C-Obs 59).


Women's Health

Endometriosis Awareness Month

For the month of March, RANZCOG is helping to spread awareness about Endometriosis.