Subspecialist Training Programs

If you are looking to further your career in Obstetrics and Gynaecology once elevated to Fellowship, you may be interested in one of the five RANZCOG Subspecialty Training Programs.  These training programs lead to Certification as a Subspecialist in one of the following areas:


Gynaecological Oncology (CGO)

Specialist Gynaecological Oncologists are competent in the comprehensive management of women with a gynaecological malignancy. A subspecialist Gynaecological Oncologist is responsible for ensuring the highest standards of care for women with gynaecological cancer.

Maternal Fetal Medicine (CMFM)

Specialists in Maternal Fetal Medicine are competent in obstetrical, medical and surgical complications of pregnancy and their effect on both the mother and the fetus.  Training includes current approaches to diagnosis and treatment of patients with complicated pregnancies and requisite technical support. Specialists with advanced knowledge of newborn adaptation ensure a continuum of excellence in care from the fetal to newborn stages.

Obstetrical and Gynaecological Ultrasound (COGU)

Specialists in Obstetrical and Gynaecological Ultrasound  are competent in all aspects of ultrasound diagnosis relating to obstetrics and gynaecology, including ultrasound guided interventional diagnostic and therapeutic techniques.  Within tertiary care institutions, the ultrasound department provides a comprehensive diagnostic service to general and subspecialist obstetrics and gynaecology.

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility (CREI)

Specialists in Reproductive Endocrinology are competent in the comprehensive management of patients with reproductive endocrine disorders and infertility.  It is not intended that only persons with the CREI should treat infertile couples but that they will be specialists in this area and directors of assisted conception units.

Urogynaecology (CU)

Specialist Urogynaecologists are competent in the comprehensive management of patients with urogynaecological disorders.  A Urogynaecologist  must spend at least 66 per cent of their clinical time working in the area of their specialty, the remainder being split between either obstetrics or gynaecology.


All five (5) Subspecialty Training Programs consist of:
  • Three years' full-time training in a prospectively approved subspecialty training position
  • Satisfactory completion in formative and summative assessments, written and oral examinations and specific assessment requirements outlined in the relevant subspecialty curriculum
  • Satisfactory completion of a prospectively approved Scholarly Elective study pertaining to the relevant subspecialty, unless otherwise exempt.

For further information on the five individual training programs visit Training Program Handbooks.


How to Apply

Applications for Subspecialty Selection 2021 (2022 Entry) opens 15 January and closes 15 February every year.

Eligibilty:  Applicants may submit their application without evidence of completion of 138 weeks training. However, that evidence of satisfactory completion will be required in order to commence subspecialty training if successfully selected through Subspecialty Selection. 

Apply: Subspecialty Selection

Australian and New Zealand Fellows and FRANZCOG trainees are invited to apply for Subspecialty Selection.

The Subspecialty Selection page contains Information for Applicants and the online Application and Payment Form .

Apply: International Subspecialists

For more infomation click here.

Apply: Recognition of Training Program (RTP)

The Recognition of Training Program (RTP) replaces the former Certificate of Recognised Training (CORT).

The RTP is to enable international obstetrics and gynaecology specialists to undertake unaccredited training with a subspecialty focus in Australia or New Zealand, and to return to their country of origin with the valuable skills and experience they have acquired during the program.

The program is not a recognised qualification within Australia or New Zealand and may not be used as such.

Information for the Recognition of Training Program can be found here:


Registration and Prospective Approval applications for RTP must be made to the College at the time the applicant has obtained an accredited subspecialty training post in the relevant program, and before the applicant has commenced training.


Visit Annual Fees for current fees associated with a Subspecialist Training Program.


Current Subspecialist Trainees

If you are already enrolled in Subspecialist training, please visit the dedicated Current Subspecialty Trainees hub for all resources and documentation related to completing your training.


Training Unit Accreditation

Visit Training Unit Accreditation for further information on accredited Subspecialist training sites, unit accreditation and re-accreditation.

More information

For further information on RANZCOG Subspecialty pathways, contact the relevant training program:
CGO [email protected]        
CMFM [email protected]
COGU [email protected]
CREI [email protected]
CU [email protected]



Dr Pieter Mourik (AM)

Being recognised in the Australia Day honours was a highlight for this rural medicine advocate.



RANZCOG urges all practitioners to help pregnant women get vaccinated

RANZCOG urges all practitioners to heed the advice issued by RANZCOG and ATAGI which recommends that pregnant women are routinely offered Pfizer or Moderna mRNA vaccine at any stage of pregnancy.



EOI: eLearning content reviewers

As women’s healthcare evolves rapidly, RANZCOG is keen to ensure its eLearning programs and modules meet member expectations and education standards.