Recognition of Prior Learning Policy and Procedure

FRANZCOG training program

Trainees who have been selected for the FRANZCOG training program and have obtained an accredited first year training position may be eligible to apply to have some previous experience or training to be recognised toward the specialist training program — subject to the approval of the RANZCOG Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) Assessment Subcommittee. Only trainees who fit one of the four categories specified are eligible for RPL.

RPL applications must be submitted as soon as possible after the trainee has accepted a place in the FRANZCOG Training Program, and before commencement of training.

To apply for Recognition of Prior Learning, complete the application form below and email it to the FRANZCOG Training Team at Once submitted, a weblink will be emailed to you to upload any relevant supporting documentation.

Subspecialty training program

Where an applicant has completed training in a subspecialty field, it may be counted towards their required training period, reducing their training time as required by the program. Applicants can apply to one of the five subspecialty training programs:

Certification in Gynaecological Oncology (CGO)

Certification in Maternal Fetal Medicine (CMFM)

Certification in Obstetrical and Gynaecological Ultrasound (COGU)

Certification in Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility (CREI)

Certification in Urogynaecology (CU)

Applications must be made to RANZCOG at the time the applicant is applying for prospective approval of their first-year accredited training position in the applicable training program.

For more information, please refer to the following document: