Mizuno-Ratnam Young Gynaecologist Award


The Asia and Oceania Federation of Obstetrics and Gynaecology (AOFOG) hosts a Congress every two years. AOFOG offers the Mizuno-Ratnam (formerly Shan S Ratnam) Young Gynaecologist Award (YGA) to promising young obstetricians and gynaecologists (aged 40 years and under) from member countries of the Asia and Oceania region to attend the AOFOG Congress. Participating in the AOFOG Congress provides young gynaecologists with the opportunity to update O&G skills and knowledge, interact with peers from across the Asia and Oceania region, and learn about AOFOG.

The award is open to all 28 member countries of AOFOG. YGA recipients (YGAs) from 20 developing member countries are provided with financial support from AOFOG to attend the Congress. YGAs from the eight developed member countries, including Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand, and their national societies, are responsible for funding YGA Congress attendance.

The RANZCOG Mizuno-Ratnam YGA supports YGA attendance of the AOFOG Congress.


RANZCOG Fellows and FRANZCOG trainees under 40 years of age.

Number of scholarships

Two per biennium.


The YGA is available via application only. Applicants are required to submit an unpublished scientific paper with their application.

The application period for the 2024 YGA has closed. Information about the 2026 YGA will be available in 2025.

Latest recipients

Congratulations to Dr Jasveen Kaur and Dr Inge Putri, recipients of the RANZCOG Mizuno-Ratnam Young Gynaecologist Award to attend the 2024 AOFOG Congress in Korea in May.


For further information, please contact our Global Health team:

Email: globalhealth@ranzcog.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9412 2926

4 December 2023