Queensland Office

Welcome to the RANZCOG Queensland State Office page. 

The below Committees can be contacted via the general QLD State Office email: [email protected]

Queensland State Committee

2020 Meeting Dates: 11 February, 26 May, 25 August, 17 November (incl. AGM)

Committee Members

Dr Thangeswaran Rudra – Chair
Dr Senaka Abeysundera – Deputy Chair
Dr Tal Jacobson – RANZCOG Councillor Qld
Dr Gary Swift – RANZCOG Councillor Qld
Dr Ben Bopp – RANZCOG Board Member Qld
Dr Paul Conaghan – Chair, QLD TAC
Prof Caroline de Costa – Committee Member
Dr Mano Haran – Committee Member
Dr Kathy Saba – Committee Member
Dr Samantha Scheman – Regional Fellow Representative
Dr Timothy Hasted – Trainee Representative
Dr Jessica Robertson – Trainee Representative
Dr Grace Neely – Co-opted Member, Diplomate Representative

Ex-Officio (Voting):
Dr Vijay Roach – RANZCOG President
Ms Vase Jovanoska – RANZCOG Chief Executive Officer 

College Staff (Non-voting):
Ms Mel Pietsch – Head of State and Territory Offices and Government Relations
Ms Sylvia Williamson – Committee Coordinator, Executive Officer, QLD State Office
Ms Laura Grummitt – Coordinator, QLD State Office

Queensland Training Accreditation Committee

2020 Meeting Dates:  30 March, 13 July, 12 October, 7 December

Committee Members

Dr Paul Conaghan – Chair (Mater Mothers' Hospital)
Dr Elize Bolton – Committee Member (Bundaberg Hospital)
Dr Lindsay Cochrane – Committee Member (Caboolture Hospital)
Dr Rebecca Wright – Committee Member (Cairns Hospital)
Dr Luke Waldrip – Committee Member (Gold Coast University Hospital)
Dr Saliya Ovitigalage  – Committee Member (Hervey Bay Hospital)
Dr Dirk Ludwig – Committee Member (Hervey Bay hospital)
Dr Mayooran Veerasingham – Committee Member (Ipswich Hospital)
Dr Mano Haran – Committee Member (Logan Hospital)
Dr Louis MacPherson – Committee Member (QEII Hospital)
Dr Nadja Hilwig – Committee Member (Mackay Hospital)
A/Prof Edward Weaver – Committee Member (Sunshine Coast University Hospital)
Dr Karen Baker – Committee Member (Royal Brisbane & Women’s Hospital)
Dr Graeme Jackson – Committee Member (Redcliffe Hospital)
Dr Mamta Vyas – Committee Member (Redcliffe Hospital)
Dr Piratheepan Kandasamy – Committee Member (Redland Hospital)
Dr Peter Ganter – Committee Member (Rockhampton Hospital)
Dr Senaka Abeysundera – Committee Member (Toowoomba Hospital)
Dr Greet Hoet – Committee Member (Townsville Hospital)
Dr Kavitha Vangilli – Committee Member (Townsville hospital)
Dr Timothy Hasted – Trainee Representative
Dr Jessica Robertson – Trainee Representative

More information

RANZCOG Queensland State Office
Suite 2, Level 2
56 Little Edward Street
Spring Hill QLD 4000
View map

Phone: +61 7 3252 3073
Email: [email protected]
Training[email protected]
Events[email protected]


Executive Officer: Sylvia Williamson
Coordinator: Laura Grummitt

Trainee Representatives

Dr Jessica Robertson
Dr Timothy Hasted



Professor John Newnham

It is with great pleasure and pride that RANZCOG acknowledges Professor John Newnham, as the first fellow to be awarded the highest honour of Senior Australian of the Year.




RANZCOG Organisational Values

In late 2019, a College Organisational Values Working Group was established and tasked with developing a unique set of shared values, defined by our common vision, for members, trainees and College staff.



Advocacy from East to West: Marwan Shawki

Marwan Shawki wants to strengthen the bonds between Australia and the Middle East, like he once did between the US and Iraq.