RANZCOG 2016 Pacific Midwifery Leadership Fellowship Program

06 December 2016

The first round of the RANZCOG 2016 Pacific Midwifery Leadership Fellowship Program concluded in Sydney last week.
Senior midwives from the Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea and Kiribati participated in the six week program hosted by the Nepean and Liverpool hospitals.
Funded by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) through Australia Awards, the program is designed to strengthen the leadership capacity of midwifery services in the Pacific.
Julie Williams, Acting District Director of Nursing and Midwifery at Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District (NBMLHD) said, “It is such a privilege to have the NBMLHD support the program. The exchange of knowledge, culture, skills and friendship is invaluable on both sides, and provides exciting opportunities for the future”.
Program participants were exposed to the maternal health services provided by host hospitals and have been able to develop practice improvement projects for implementation in their respective home countries.
 “This type of professional development has given us courage, confidence and knowledge to be change motivators who can take a proactive role in addressing system improvements back home”, said Kathleen Gapirongo, Senior Midwife from the Solomon Islands.
“Sometimes a small change can make a big difference in health outcomes and in turn the lives of our families and communities”.
The six attending midwives included Kathleen Gapirongo, Marilyn Iro and Rebecca Manehanitai from the Solomon Islands, Lilian Temo from Papua New Guinea, and Toata Titaake and Monica Tarabo from Kiribati.




Dr Pieter Mourik (AM)

Being recognised in the Australia Day honours was a highlight for this rural medicine advocate.



RANZCOG urges all practitioners to help pregnant women get vaccinated

RANZCOG urges all practitioners to heed the advice issued by RANZCOG and ATAGI which recommends that pregnant women are routinely offered Pfizer or Moderna mRNA vaccine at any stage of pregnancy.



EOI: eLearning content reviewers

As women’s healthcare evolves rapidly, RANZCOG is keen to ensure its eLearning programs and modules meet member expectations and education standards.