RANZCOG Fellows awarded honours on the Queen’s Birthday

12 June 2018

The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists would like to congratulate our Fellows for being awarded honours on Australia Day 2018 for their crucial work in the field of obstetrics and gynaecology.
Professor Susan Walker was conferred the title of Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia. Professor Walker is a maternal-fetal medicine subspecialist and an academic clinical researcher. Her research interests focus on improving the detection and management of fetal growth disorders, treatments for pre-eclampsia and prevention of stillbirth. She founded and leads the Perinatal Medicine Department at the Mercy Hospital for Women and serves on numerous RANZCOG committees, including as Deputy Chair of the Women's Health Committee and Chair of the Maternal-Fetal Medicine subspecialty.
Professor Rodney John Baber and Adjunct Associate Professor Leslie Lewis Reti were bestowed the title of Members (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.
Rod Baber is Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the University of Sydney, President of the International Menopause Society and Associate Editor of ANZJOG. He has been an invited speaker at over 100 scientific meetings and published more than 70 papers in peer-reviewed journals.
Associate Professor Leslie Reti is Director of Gynaecology, Cancer Services and Clinical Governance at the Royal Women’s Hospital and Adjunct Associate Professor of Public Health at La Trobe University. As Co-Founder of the Centre Against Sexual Assault (CASA House) (1986), Reti led the development of state-wide standards of practice, after hours crisis care and a Code of Conduct for Victoria Police governing protocols in responding to victim-survivors of sexual assault. In 2013, Reti also received RANZCOG’s Distinguished Service Medal.

Dr John Douglas Taylor was awarded an AM  in the General Division for significant service to medicine as a urologist and urogynaecologist, to medical education, and to the community.
Finally, Associate Professor Michael Cooper was awarded a Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia. Cooper initiated one of the early endoscopic training centres for gynaecologists in Australia. Specialising in the treatment of endometriosis requiring advanced surgical and/or assisted conception techniques, he encourages his patients to be involved in their own care and strongly advocates for specialist endometriosis management teams.




In response to the recent communique Misuse of Subspecialist Titles, the College has received valuable feedback from our members.



Australia Day 2020 Honours

RANZCOG congratulates our Fellows who have been recognised in the 2020 Australia Day Honours List.



Congratulations Professor John Newnham AM

RANZCOG congratulates FRANZCOG Professor John Newnham AM who has been named 2020 Senior Australian of the Year.