Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges respond to review of accreditation within the NRAS

18 September 2017

Media Release

Australian medical regulation must remain independent
Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges
18 September 2017

The Australian Government has released the report from a review of accreditation systems within the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme for Health Professions. The report recommends increased government control over health professional education and training through the removal of the independence of the regulator.
Professor Nicholas Talley, Chair of the Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges called for caution in any consideration of an accreditation structure which seeks to increase the role of government in the setting of standards, policies and procedures affecting the education and training of Australia’s medical profession. 
Professor Talley said the report from the review made a poor case for change to the current system of medical regulation. He said “Australia’s medical education and training sector is a trusted and respected model of regulation. It is recognised as the best in the world, and is worth protecting.”
Professor Talley said the objectives of the national registration and accreditation scheme will not be met by the recommendations of this review, in particular the protection of the public through the provision of high quality education and training and rigorous assessment of standards.
CPMC is concerned about using this review to push through an untested theory, which will result in more bureaucracy, more cost and likely result in greater risk to patient safety.
CPMC recommends further discussion takes place to ensure any recommendations arising from the review continue to include independence of the regulator and protection to the public.

Read the original release here.




In response to the recent communique Misuse of Subspecialist Titles, the College has received valuable feedback from our members.



Australia Day 2020 Honours

RANZCOG congratulates our Fellows who have been recognised in the 2020 Australia Day Honours List.



Congratulations Professor John Newnham AM

RANZCOG congratulates FRANZCOG Professor John Newnham AM who has been named 2020 Senior Australian of the Year.