RANZCOG Board and Council welcome new Fellows to the specialty of O&G

30 October 2017


Monday 30 October 2017

The Auckland Town Hall was a flurry of excitement on Sunday evening with new Fellows anticipating the long awaited elevation to Fellowship.

The Presentation Ceremony is a highlight of the ASM program and is an opportunity for the RANZCOG Board and Council to welcome newly elevated Fellows to the specialty of obstetrics and gynaecology.

Held at the Auckland Town Hall, 68 new O&G specialists along with 3 new sub-specialists received their qualifications. Surrounded by families and colleagues, the presentation ceremony was a hive of excitement and celebration of years of commitment and hard work.

A number of medals were presented to trainees and Fellows in recognition of outstanding achievement in a RANZCOG examination, as well as significant contribution to the College and the wider profession.

Scientific Program Chair Professor Wayne Gillett was recognised for his contribution to the College within New Zealand and received the RANZCOG Conspicuous Service Medal. Dr Sarah Tout received the RANZCOG President’s Award, the highest individual award that can be bestowed by the College. American College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (ACOG) Past-President Dr Mark DeFrancesco became an Honorary Fellow of RANZCOG in acknowledgement of his extraordinary influence on women’s health across the US.



Reproductive Health Care Reform Bill 2019: proposed amendments

The proposed amendments call into question the standards and ethics of the medical profession, seeking to regulate and control practice.



Reproductive Health Care Reform Bill 2019

RANZCOG recognises the complexities associated with late term abortions, and supports a process by which late term abortions can be lawfully performed where appropriate.



Reproductive Health Care Reform Bill 2019

The peak body for obstetrics and gynaecology and women’s health, RANZCOG, welcomes the tabling of the Reproductive Health Care Reform Bill 2019 in the NSW Parliament and urges all MPs to vote in favour.