RANZCOG Regional Committees and Te Kāhui Oranga ō Nuku (the New Zealand Committee) Elections

Two-year term:  September 2019–September 2021

Following the close of nominations on Monday 15 July, as the number of nominations exceeded the number of vacancies in the following Committees, it was necessary to conduct a ballot in accordance with the ​Policy and Procedure for the Election of Regional and Te Kāhui Oranga ō Nuku Members.

The Ballot opened at 10.00 AEST Friday 19 July 2019 for:

  • Three (3) Australian Capital Territory Regional Committee - Fellow Representatives
  • Five (5) Queensland Regional Committee - Fellow Representatives
  • Five (5) Te Kāhui Oranga ō Nuku (formerly The New Zealand Committee) - Fellow Representatives
  • Five (5) Western Australia Regional Committee - Fellow Representatives

All financial Fellows residing in the above-mentioned Regions and New Zealand are encouraged to participate in the ongoing elections. The ballot closes at 12 Noon AEST on Monday 12 August 2019.

All Fellows will have received an email from Bigpulse, an electronic voting company, with instructions about the elections process. For any further queries please contact: [email protected]

Election Key Dates


Call for Nominations open Monday 17 June 2019
Call for Nominations close Monday 15 July 2019 at 12 Noon AEST
Electronic ballot open Friday 19 July 2019
Electronic ballot close Monday 12 August 2019 at 12 Noon AEST


Terms of Reference

The Te Kāhui Oranga ō Nuku and the Regional Committees shall operate in accordance with their respective Terms of Reference. Please access a copy of the relevant Terms of Reference below for further information in relation to the purpose, scope and authority of the Committees:

Nomination Process

RANZCOG Fellows wishing to stand for nomination must complete the online Nomination Form (sent via email from BigPulse, electronic voting company) by the close of nominations on Monday 15 July 2019 at 12 Noon AEST.
If you require assistance at any time or need the Nomination Form to be resent to you, please contact:

Iffath Afroze
Election Office
Phone: +61 3 9412 2963
Email: [email protected]

Acceptance of Nominations

In order for a nomination to be accepted and to be deemed valid, the following must be adhered to:

  • The Nomination Form must be received by the Election Office, by close of nominations on Monday 15 July 2019 at 12 Noon AEST 
  • All nominees, proposers and seconders must be resident in the applicable region and be financial Fellows of the College at the time of a nomination being submitted. For the purposes of this election, to be deemed a financial Fellow, the individual will have no outstanding monies owing to the College, including the 2019/2020 annual subscription fee.
  • All nominees, proposers and seconders for the Provincial Fellow Representative position must be registered Provincial Fellows i.e. have formally made an application to the College to be recognised as a Provincial Fellow. Additionally, in the event that a ballot is required, only registered Provincial Fellows in the applicable region may vote for the Provincial Fellow Representative.

Nominations received by the Election Office will be acknowledged within two business days.  


More information

If you have any queries in relation to RANZCOG election process, please contact:

Iffath Afroze
Election Office
Phone: +61 3 9412 2963
Email: [email protected]



Gender Equity and Diversity Working Group Communiqué

Every health professional has a right to work in a safe, supportive workplace



Taking it to the edge

More than 150 delegates attended the recent RANZCOG SA/NT Symposium, enjoying an engaging and diverse scientific program during the day, and then honouring 35 Year Fellows at a gala dinner.



Termination of pregnancy is a right for every woman

In response to comments by Peter Dutton, we reassert our strongly-held position that all people, irrespective of their nationality or citizenship status, should be offered appropriate medical assessment and care.